Skip to content
St Albans Counts — St Albans, in numbers.Local help →

St Albans · England

People and living standards

St Albans council area. Every figure carries its own date.

St Albans

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

St Albans local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 126,229 in 1991 to 150,757 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

St Albans council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 127,428 people in 1996; 150,757 people in 2025. 18.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991126,229
1992126,046
1993126,298
1994126,931
1995127,325
1996127,428
1997127,327
1998127,022
1999128,129
2000128,772
2001129,168
2002130,407
2003131,180
2004131,284
2005131,951
2006133,293
2007134,338
2008136,088
2009137,858
2010139,511
2011141,248
2012142,616
2013144,222
2014145,938
2015146,894
2016147,823
2017147,596
2018147,552
2019148,058
2020148,555
2021148,624
2022148,652
2023149,694
2024150,722
2025150,757
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

St Albans council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,310 people in 1996; 30,940 people in 2025. 22.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199125,080
199225,061
199325,125
199425,377
199525,357
199625,310
199725,424
199825,494
199926,059
200026,369
200126,573
200227,102
200327,513
200427,784
200528,062
200628,347
200728,465
200828,816
200929,364
201029,781
201130,219
201230,690
201331,185
201431,639
201531,965
201632,303
201732,382
201832,448
201932,446
202032,286
202131,925
202231,992
202332,010
202431,646
202530,940
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

St Albans council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 83,420 people in 1996; 92,755 people in 2025. 11.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199182,936
199282,731
199382,870
199483,106
199583,435
199683,420
199783,121
199882,653
199983,055
200083,199
200183,322
200283,851
200383,998
200483,832
200584,018
200685,041
200785,797
200886,751
200987,509
201088,329
201189,098
201289,175
201389,750
201490,599
201590,880
201691,180
201790,722
201890,272
201990,377
202090,888
202191,002
202290,690
202391,346
202492,381
202592,755
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

St Albans council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,698 people in 1996; 27,062 people in 2025. 44.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,213
199218,254
199318,303
199418,448
199518,533
199618,698
199718,782
199818,875
199919,015
200019,204
200119,273
200219,454
200319,669
200419,668
200519,871
200619,905
200720,076
200820,521
200920,985
201021,401
201121,931
201222,751
201323,287
201423,700
201524,049
201624,340
201724,492
201824,832
201925,235
202025,381
202125,697
202225,970
202326,338
202426,695
202527,062
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 148,169 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St Albans · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh12,1768.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African3,1592.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups6,3544.3%
White123,86583.6%
Other ethnic group2,6151.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 140,664 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St Albans · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White124,38088.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups3,9042.8%
Asian/Asian British9,0116.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,3881.7%
Other ethnic group9810.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 129,005 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · St Albans · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White120,10593.1%
Mixed2,0381.6%
Asian/Asian British4,2693.3%
Black/Black British1,2991%
Chinese/Other1,2941%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 55.9% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

St Albans council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £15,597 per person in 1997; £40,492 per person in 2024. 159.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199715,597
199816,188
199916,541
200017,797
200118,800
200219,023
200319,287
200419,707
200520,369
200621,287
200722,509
200822,878
200923,437
201023,425
201123,353
201224,436
201325,646
201426,802
201528,495
201628,701
201729,433
201831,043
201932,310
202030,906
202133,160
202235,279
202337,976
202440,492
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

St Albans council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 47% in 1997; 55.9% in 2024. 8.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — St Albans council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199747
199849.5
199946.2
200049.5
200152
200250.4
200348
200445.2
200544.9
200645.4
200746.7
200845.3
200946.4
201045
201143.3
201244.7
201346.4
201448.2
201549.8
201649
201749.4
201852.1
201953.3
202047.2
202151.8
202253.6
202355.3
202455.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

10.4%

21 March 2021 · St Albans local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

10.1%

21 March 2021 · St Albans local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3%

21 March 2021 · St Albans local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£647,000

July 2026 · St Albans local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,931

August 2026 · St Albans local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.